Yo Gabba Gabba Might Be an Evil Plot to Destroy the World

14 Apr

I finished my senior thesis!

I don’t know how to describe the feeling, really. I suppose it’s like finishing a marathon… and then, looking up and realizing you came in last. No joke. I turned it in and, a moment later, realized that there were a thousand things I should have done better—but, at the same time, I was relieved it was over.

As soon as I turned it in, I crashed. I sat on the couch for hours… and wallowed in a mixture of self-pity and laziness.

As I was flipping channels, though, I noticed that there was a show on called Yo Gabba Gabba—and I don’t think I’ll ever recover. The first time I watched it was in middle school, when my youngest sister was young enough to watch it.

This show has the amazing capacity to mesmerize children. My sister could sit down and watch it for hours… but, as an adult, I’m confused.

I remember one part in the show where they were singing “Brush Your Teeth” over and over and over, and there was a random guy in the background with a boom box. I’m pretty sure if you played that song backwards, though, it would say something like “DESTROY ALL THE THINGS”. My sister might wake up one day, in a few years, and the only thing she’ll be able to say will be “death and destruction”… and she’ll probably have really clean teeth.

I probably made this guy cuter than he ought to be. In the show he looks like some kind of spotted pickle…

Other than obsessing over the deeper meaning in Yo Gabba Gabba, I’ve been prepping for the next two weeks, in which I will somehow have to finish a video project, put together a portfolio, and write four ten page essays… I guess, this means that me, my youtube account, and local starbucks will become best friends in the near future.

That, by the way, is coffee. My love for coffee is about as strong as my love for wasting time on youtube. or on Paint.

6 Responses to “Yo Gabba Gabba Might Be an Evil Plot to Destroy the World”

  1. ethelthedean April 15, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Congratulations! It really is the best feeling in the world, isn’t it? Good luck with the rest of your assignments, you’ll be smashing.

    Also, this post was hilarious. That is all.

    • Erica Dempsey April 15, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      Thanks!
      By the way, you get like 1,000 cool points for the use of the word “smashing”! I’m definatly going to integrate that word into my vocabulary.

  2. freyaclarke May 15, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    This made me laugh! I’ve always thought that kids TV shows were actually programming them to destroy the world…Thanks for bringing some light relief to my German homework!

  3. Mental Wanderlust King May 15, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    I work with kids, and they friggin’ ADORE this show, so I think you are actually on to something. There is no way characters on a kids TV show can be THAT colorful and repetitive without some sinister hypnosis plot boiling underneath the cheerful synthpop surface.

    All those colorful characters will reveal their (*obvious*) secret powers of destruction, and lead armies of hypnotized children that will do the bidding of their fuzzy generals and destroy all that do not bend to the will of Supreme Glorious Leader DJ Lance Rock!

    And that is what we will get for taking the tomfoolery of children’s midday programming lightly.

  4. averystrangeplace May 15, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    Of course, it later turns out that “Fairly Odd Parents” will spark the apocalypse and “Jimmy Neutron” is the antichrist.

  5. QueridaJ May 16, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    I think you’re on to something because weird pickle guy reminded me of that computer cavorting villain, Plankton! (fyi: from Spongebob)

Leave a Reply

