Bloggin’ Like A Rebel

16 May

Hey guys, remember that time when I was featured on “Freshly Pressed” and went from less than 10 followers to about 150 followers?

Yeah, that happened. Good times.

Achievement Unlocked: Only MS Paint picture on the page 😀

Basically, I checked my email and noticed that I had 200 or so unread messages… and knew that something was going down. Now there’s like a bajillion more people who are reading my blog, so I figured I’d go ahead and introduce myself:

Yo. I’m Erica. I have a blog on which I post crazy doodles and random posts. I love orange push-up-pops and utilizing gangster colloquialisms, home slice.

Also, I’m a rebel.

You can tell I’m a rebel because I was in a “No Balloon” zone. Fight the power.

Examples of my accomplishments in Rebellion include:

Grand Theft Orange Pops

Who-Doodled-Pictures-Of-Gandalf-All-Over-This-Library-Book Vandalism

And, more recently, Nail-Art Graffiti.

The other day, I was feeling mischievous. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, squirrels were diving out of the trees… Then, I woke up and thought to myself, what mayhem and chaos can I cause today.

So I went about my day, packing and what not, hoping that the opportunity would present itself, eventually.

And it did, while I was shopping.

I was at the grocery store, picking up some cleaning supplies, as ya’ do when you’re packing up. I walked toward the registers, and turned the corner—then I saw my mischief and all its glory.

There stood, in the cosmetics section, a section of nail polish that was as tall as I was.

we wants it… we needs it… must have the preccciiiiooooouuuuusss… tricksie hobbits– oh, wait.

What’s the big deal with nail polish? Why is nail polish mischievous, you might ask?

Colors. All the colors.

When I was in elementary, middle, and high school, my parents had this rule. Well, they had a lot of rules, but one of them was: the only nail polish colors you can wear were whites, pinks, and reds. I’m not quite sure why this rule existed, or when it even started… but it was there. I never much cared either way, because I didn’t care much about my nails.

But when I saw this nail polish shelf, suddenly, I cared.

There were so many colors. Sure, you had your whites, pinks, and reds—but there were also oranges and greens and blues. It was like a rainbow—a double or triple rainbow, really.

Double Rainbow. It’s so intense. What does it mean?!?!?!

AND the brand was called Sinful Colors — the harmonies of sweet rebellion were calling out to me 😀

So I raided the shelf.

I bought about $20 worth of nail polish, and, when I look at them, I know that I am probably the happiest miscreant ever– And I have a nail in every color to show for it.

Hey, but you know what I didn’t buy? Nail polish remover.

PS:

I got a Twitter account. If you’re interested in what I’m up to, feel free to check it out.

15 Responses to “Bloggin’ Like A Rebel”

  1. Mental Wanderlust King May 16, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    It’s no surprise your inbox exploded. You’re a funny lady and you put my lifetime of MS paint working to shame. Well played.

  2. daffodils & dishwater May 17, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    Word!

  3. rachelleannewor May 17, 2012 at 1:48 am #

    I really like your MS Paint master piece. Sooo coool. 🙂 Plus you’re humor makes it more cool. You rock!

  4. wordswithnannaprawn May 17, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    Awesome Blog!!!! keep drawing, AND procrastinating because…..When I was a kid…..way, way, way back before your galaxy was formed and there was such a thing as computer aided design, I had a dream. That when I grew up (still waiting for that to happen) I would buy THE biggest, longest, box of Crayola crayons in the world. My cousins actually had such a box…….way, way, way back in the Land Before Time (the 1970’s) and I wanted one, I wanted one bad, because my Mother, who was born in like the Victorian era or something and had survived the wars or something and been on rations and seemed to think we still should be, would only buy me the smallest box…I’m not even sure it had ALL of the primary colours, because….. and here is the Mother of all killers of creativity,…. “exactly how many colours do you actually need? you dont need crayons in every shade to draw a picture Dawn” FFS. I could have been a famous artist by now but charcoal drawings have never been very popular. – p.s Nice Giraffe 🙂

  5. EzraWontShutUp May 17, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    You cheeky rebel you.

  6. ethewriter May 17, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Your sense of humor is amazing! Keep up the great work!

  7. Erica May 17, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    My name is Erica, too!
    And I am also struck with the urge to purchase every existing color of nailpolish (and never use it) simply because my parents wouldn’t let me when I was younger.

    • Erica May 17, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

      haha! I love that we spell our name the same way too!
      When I was at Starbucks last, the guy at the register asked me what my name was, and, when I told him “Erica, E R I C A”, he responded with, “With a ‘C’, ay? I don’t see many Ericas with a ‘C’. It’s definatly going the way of the Dodo.” Needless to say, I was confused, but I’m glad there are others who use a ‘C’. 🙂

      • Erica May 17, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

        So far, you’re the only other I’ve (sort of) met who spells it the same way I do. haha

  8. Erica May 17, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    The point being: you’re funny, and I like your blog.

  9. Kay Rice May 20, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Hi Erica, Another GREAT blog post. I therefore nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award. If you will accept this award, please go to my Site and follow the instructions. http://wordsfromtheashes.wordpress.com/2012/05/20/beautiful-blogger-award-received-today/

  10. averystrangeplace May 23, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Of course, it turns out later that Erica is a rainbow themed super villain who I have to kill.
    Sigh, it’s always the funny ones that become evil, isn’t it?

    • Erica May 24, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      City by city, me and my army of rainbow-robot-zombie-unicorns will destroy everyone and everything that resists the allure of my multi-colored nail polishes… [insert evil laugh here]

      • averystrangeplace May 24, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

        Gasp! Our only hope is… Remover Man, and the Bland-Colouring Brigade!

  11. heidicwallace June 8, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    This Easter my mom gave my sister and I some candy and nail polish… Sinful Colors nail polish. I looked at her and said, “Mother. Do you really think it’s appropriate to remember the resurrection of our Savior with something with ‘sinful’ in the name?” But then again, since that is why he died, I suppose it just might be alright after all.

Leave a Reply

